Fun with shell scripting

All though the title of this blog says Tech Talk with Abhi, I haven’t posted anything technical as of now which is a really bad sign. But just hang in there and you will know some cool stuff I’ve been working on. The start is here.

Frankly speaking, this post is a home task that I should be doing as part of the dgplug summer training I’m undertaking (details mentioned here). Although I did a course on Unix shell programming the last semester I was completely bewildered at my ignorance of a few essential commands.

Most of the commands I found out using the net but there were some tricky ones that needed the combination of two or more commands. When I wrote them I thought they were right but my follow up session proved me entirely wrong.

I did certainly learn something cool (like in every other session) and that’s the xkill command. When you use this command, your cursor changes into a skull or an “X” mark. You can hover over any window or process and just click on it and puff! your process vanishes. Essentially what happens is you are killing processes using a GUI model.

In practice, Linux is giving a gun to you and allowing you to shoot people whom you don’t like or people who just don’t do anything. So cool, right?

If using the terminal is your sweet spot then you could always use $kill -9 pid. There was a really useful command by name $lsusb which allows you to list all connected devices to your system. This one is a real gift because at times, your phone doesn’t detect itself automatically and this becomes the only way you can check if your phone is connected or not (through data-cable).

Another very interesting command is the $ifconfig command. I can go on harping about this one for pages but there’s one most important information it gives you, and that’s your IP address. I used it a lot of times to set up my local server and it allowed people to access files from my system provided we’re connected on the same network.

I do know that other commands are pretty useful too but I haven’t had the time to check them out.

Either ways I’ve hosted my code here on BitBucket. Check out, share, modify, improvise and use! (Philosophy of FOSS in a nutshell 😉 )

Leave a Reply

